Australia Work

Navigating the Stages of Australia’s Skilled Migration Points Table: A Step-by-Step Guide

Designed by Freepik

Australia’s Skilled Migration Points Table provides a structured pathway for skilled professionals to migrate to the country and contribute to its thriving economy. Understanding the stages involved in this points-based system is crucial for aspiring migrants. In this article, we will explore the step-by-step process of Australia’s Skilled Migration Points Table, guiding you through each stage and shedding light on its significance.

Stage 1: Expression of Interest (EOI)

The first step in the skilled migration process is submitting an Expression of Interest (EOI) through SkillSelect, which is an online system managed by the Australian Department of Home Affairs. In the EOI, applicants provide information about their skills, qualifications, work experience, language proficiency, and other relevant details. Based on this information, applicants are assigned an initial score, which determines their eligibility for skilled migration.

Stage 2: Points Calculation

After submitting the EOI, the next stage involves calculating the points earned based on various factors. The Australia Skilled Migration Points Table assigns points to specific criteria, including age, English language proficiency, educational qualifications, work experience, regional study, partner skills, and state or territory nomination.

Applicants receive points based on their age at the time of application, with maximum points awarded to individuals between 25 and 32 years old. English language proficiency is evaluated through approved language tests such as IELTS, PTE, or OET, with more points awarded for higher scores. Educational qualifications, including doctoral, master’s, bachelor’s degrees, or trade qualifications, also contribute to the points total.

Work experience is crucial, with more years of experience in a skilled occupation listed on the Skilled Occupation List (SOL) resulting in higher points. Additional points can be earned through regional study, where applicants who have completed at least two years of study in a regional area of Australia can claim extra points. If an applicant’s partner meets certain criteria, additional points can be earned based on their skills and qualifications. State or territory nomination programs offer further points to those who meet specific requirements.

Stage 3: Invitation to Apply (ITA)

Once the points calculation is complete, applicants with the highest scores are invited to apply for skilled migration through SkillSelect. Invitations are issued periodically based on the occupation ceilings set for each occupation category and the demand for specific skills in the Australian labour market.

Receiving an Invitation to Apply (ITA) is a significant milestone, as it signifies that an applicant has met the required minimum points threshold and has a realistic chance of obtaining a visa. The ITA specifies the visa subclass and the timeframe within which the applicant must submit their application.

Stage 4: Visa Application and Assessment

After receiving an ITA, applicants proceed to the visa application stage. They must submit a complete application within the specified timeframe, providing supporting documents and evidence to validate the information provided in the EOI.

The Department of Home Affairs assesses the application, verifying the authenticity of the documents and ensuring that the applicant meets the eligibility requirements for the chosen visa subclass. This process includes health and character background checks to ensure that applicants meet the necessary health and character standards.

Stage 5: Visa Grant and Migration

Upon successful assessment of the visa application, the applicant receives an intimation of a visa grant. This signifies that they have met all the necessary criteria and are approved to migrate to Australia as a skilled migrant. The visa grant letter outlines the conditions and obligations associated with the visa subclass, including the duration of the visa and any work or residency requirements.

Upon arrival in Australia, skilled migrants have the opportunity to work, live, and contribute to the country’s economy. They can access various benefits such as high-quality healthcare, excellent education systems, and a range of lifestyle options.

Skilled Migration Points Table

As of the cut-off requirements in September 2021, the skilled migration points table for Australia is as follows:


– 18-24 years: 25 points

– 25-32 years: 30 points

– 33-39 years: 25 points

– 40-44 years: 15 points

– 45-49 years: 0 points

English Language Proficiency:

– Competent English: 0 points

– Proficient English: 10 points

– Superior English: 20 points

Skilled Employment:     

– At least 1 year but less than 3 years: 5 points

– At least 3 years but less than 5 years: 10 points

– At least 5 years or more: 15 points

Educational Qualifications:

– Doctorate: 20 points

– Bachelor’s or Master’s degree: 15 points

– Australian Diploma or Trade qualification: 10 points

Australian Study Requirement:

– At least 2 years of study in Australia: 5 points

Other Factors:      

– Credential community language qualifications: 5 points

– Partner skill qualifications: 10 points

– State/Territory sponsorship (subclass 190 visa): 5 points

– Nomination by State/Territory government or sponsorship by an eligible family member (subclass 491 visa): 15 points

These points are used to determine eligibility for skilled visas such as subclass 189 (Skilled Independent visa), subclass 190 (Skilled Nominated visa), and subclass 491 (Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa).

Please note that immigration policies are subject to change, and it is advisable to consult the official website of the Australian Department of Home Affairs or seek professional advice to get the most up-to-date information regarding skilled migration points.


Australia’s Skilled Migration Points Table provides a clear and structured framework for skilled professionals seeking to migrate to the country. By understanding the stages involved, including the Expression of Interest, Points Calculation, Invitation to Apply, Visa Application and Assessment, and Visa Grant, aspiring migrants can navigate the process with confidence. Australia’s skilled migration program offers immense opportunities for individuals to build successful careers, enjoy a high standard of living, and contribute to the country’s economic growth.

Related posts

Boost to Canada’s Start-up Visa (SUV) Program in UAE: More Flexibility and Opportunities for Entrepreneurs


UK Mobility Visa Expands Eligibility for Canadians and Australians


Changes in Student Visa Requirements and Work Rights: Updates from Australia and New Zealand

× How can I help you?